top of page

LA MONTAGNE NOIRE AND THE LIBERATOR HARRY

 

LA MONTAGNE NOIRE, more than a simple hike!

The village of St-Donat, located in the vast and beautiful region of Lanaudière, boasts many peaks. The highest of them, the summit of the Montagne Noire, culminates at an altitude of 892 m. Walking its trails allows you to contemplate magnificent landscapes but also to discover the site of the crash of a Canadian military plane, the Liberator Harry.

In the midst of World War II, on October 19, 1943, a military aircraft carrying 20 passengers and 4 crew members crashed near the peak of the Montagne Noir. The aircraft, a Canadian Army Consolidated Liberator B-24, took off from Gander Airport in Newfoundland and was on its way to Mont-Joli Airport. Bad weather conditions prevented it from landing there and the plane was redirected to Dorval or Rockcliff airports, near Ottawa. It never made it to either airport. All 24 passengers were killed instantly and a large part of the aircraft was destroyed by fire.

At the time of the Liberator's disappearance, intense aerial searches were carried out. Between October 20 and November 26, 1943, 728 sorties totaling 2,438 flight hours took place. But the remains of the plane were invisible among the countless peaks of this densely vegetative region.

The Liberator Harry was eventually discovered by chance, almost three years after its crash, in June 1946. Aerial searches were being carried out to find another missing plane in the area. Immediately after sighting the metal debris and the twin fins of the Liberator, ground troops set out to climb through the untamed forest. When they arrived at the crash site, they could confirm that the crash was indeed the Liberator Harry with all passengers and crew having perished. To this day, the crash of the Liberator Harry is still the Royal Canadian Air Force's worst air tragedy.

A commemorative monument has been erected and 24 white crosses allow the names of those who lost their lives to be read. The plane's fuselage still lies there, surrounded by debris.

Liberator_B-24.jpg

Liberator B-24

image.jpg
1943_Saint-Donat_B-24D_Liberator_crash_s
11143486_511376202358553_793723068922411

TO LEARN MORE ABOUT THE LIBERATOR TRAGEDY AND SUPPORT THE LIBERATOR GUARDIANS CAUSE, PLEASE VISIT:

 

bottom of page

La Montagne noire et le Liberator Harry.

 

La montagne noire, plus qu’une simple randonnée!

 

Le village de St-Donat, situé dans la belle grande région de Lanaudière, compte de très nombreux sommets. Le plus haut d’entre eux, le sommet de la Montagne noire, culmine à une altitude de 892 m. Parcourir ses sentiers permet de contempler de magnifiques paysages mais aussi de découvrir le site de l’écrasement d’un avion militaire canadien, le Liberator Harry. 

 

En pleine Deuxième Guerre mondiale, le 19 octobre 1943, un avion militaire transportant 20 passagers et 4 membres d’équipage, s’est écrasé près du sommet de la montagne noire. L’appareil, un Consolidated Liberator B-24 de l’armée canadienne, avait quitté l’aéroport de Gander à Terre-Neuve et se dirigeait vers l’aéroport de Mont-Joli. Les mauvaises conditions météorologiques l’ont alors empêché de se poser à cet endroit et l’avion fut redirigé vers les aéroports de Dorval ou de Rockcliff, près d’Ottawa. Il ne s’est jamais rendu à l’un ou l’autre de ces aéroports. Les 24 passagers ont péri sur le coup et un incendie a ravagé une bonne partie de l’appareil. 

 

Au moment de sa disparition, d’intenses recherches aériennes ont eu lieu. Entre le 20 octobre et le 26 novembre 1943, 728 sorties cumulant 2 438 heures de vol ont été effectués.  Les vestiges de l’appareil sont demeurés invisibles parmi les innombrables sommets de cette région à la végétation très dense. 

 

Le Liberator Harry a fini par être découvert par hasard, près de trois ans après son écrasement, en juin 1946. Des recherches aériennes avaient alors lieu pour tenter de retrouver un autre avion disparu dans la région. Immédiatement après avoir aperçu les débris métalliques et les dérives jumelles du Liberator, les militaires au sol ont entrepris l’ascension à travers la forêt non aménagée. Arrivés sur les lieux de l’écrasement, ils n’ont pu que constater la mort de tous les passagers et membres d’équipage. L’écrasement du Liberator Harry est encore à ce jour la pire tragédie aérienne de l’Aviation royale canadienne.

 

Un monument commémoratif a été érigé et 24 croix blanches permettent de lire les noms de ceux qui y ont perdu la vie. Le fuselage de l’avion git-là, entouré de nombreux débris. 

 

 

Liberator B-24

POUR EN SAVOIR PLUS SUR LA TRAGÉDIE DU LIBERATOR ET SUPPORTER LA CAUSE DES GARDIENS DU LIBERATOR MERCI DE VISITEZ:

 

RBQ 5774-4666-01

©2019 Domaine La Montagne Noire inc.